Kevin Matthew Weiss

About Me
Kevin Matthew Weiss
Meet 2023 Award Recipient

Kevin Matthew Weiss

Kevin came to ISMMS from the University of Michigan, where he majored in Biology and International Studies. After earning his Master of Public Health degree in Global Epidemiology from Emory University, he worked as an infectious disease epidemiologist with a focus on HIV and other sexually transmitted infections. He entered the MD program in 2019 as part of the Primary Care Scholars Program.

During his time at ISMMS, Kevin was deeply involved with the East Harlem Health Outreach Partnership (EHHOP) as an Access to Care Team Case Manager, Chronic Care Junior and Senior Clinician, Clinic Co-Chair, and Chief Teaching Senior. He volunteered as a teaching assistant for multiple pre-clinical courses, worked as an editor for the ISMMS Journal of Science and Medicine, and was a member of the Harm Reduction Coalition and Segregated Care Working Group. He conducted and published research on the COVID-19 response in student-run free clinics and the dynamics and epidemiology of anal and cervical HPV in people living with HIV and will graduate with distinction in research. He was elected by his peers into the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Kevin would like to express his gratitude for the support and love from Shannon, his parents and family, and dear friends who have made this pursuit possible. He would like to thank Dr. Yasmin Meah, Dr. Peter Gliatto, Dr. Michael Herscher, Dr. Michael Kaplan, Dr. Meredith Grossman, Dr. Allison Gault, and countless other mentors for being models of the ideal physician and compassionate person to which he aspires. Above all, he is humbled and motivated by the patients and families who have reinforced his desire to be a physician and given this journey meaning.

Kevin will graduate with his MD degree and continue his residency training in Internal Medicine at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, Massachusetts.

Kevin Matthew Weiss is receiving the:

Gold Humanism Honor Society

Harold Elster Memorial Prize for Clinical Acumen